Don’t Be Too Hasty

I had an interesting experience recently. It involved Facebook and a friend request. Now, I don’t know about you but I am not in the race to see how many “friends” I can get on Facebook. And if I receive a friend request from someone I don’t know then I usually don’t accept it.

So, when I got an email notifying me of a friend request from someone I didn’t know, I automatically went on to Facebook to delete the request. Luckily, the person making the request had also sent me a message introducing herself and explaining why she had made the request.

It turned out she is the editor of the magazine Fiber Art Now and wanted permission to use a picture of my quilt STELLA! in an article about QuiltCon that would appear in the summer edition of their magazine. How cool is that?

So I have learned not to be too hasty in my “friend request” decisions. And now, if I want to make a friend request to someone who may not know (or remember) me, I will send a message along with some explanation.

Today I got a copy of the magazine.

20130714-184540.jpg

And I was thrilled to see the article about QuiltCon.

20130714-185110.jpg

The whole magazine is a feast for the eyes, beautiful photos of amazing projects. Pick up a copy if you get a chance. Or subscribe. Check out Fiber Art Now.

About Susan Strong

My name is Susan and I am a quilter. (Sounds like the beginning of a 12-step program meeting!) I am also the wife of a very understanding husband, mother of two great adult children and Nana of two beautiful granddaughters. I have been quilting for more years than I am willing to mention. To say that I am obsessed with quilting is an understatement. I love fabric, colour and the whole creative process. There is nothing better than starting a new quilt ... but finishing is another story. I am, what you might call, easily distracted. Always seduced by new fabrics and ideas. And that would be the reason I have a cupboard full of quilt tops waiting to be finished. Someday.
This entry was posted in Magazines, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

