Chevron Baby!

I love making baby quilts! A baby quilt is a great opportunity to try out a new block or technique without a huge time commitment. Or a chance to satisfy the need to use that fat quarter bundle or new line of fabric without breaking the bank.

My latest finish is called “Chevron Baby!” and was made for the new grandson of a co-worker. Most of the fabric is from a fat quarter bundle of the line called Bungle Jungle with the addition of the dark charcoal.
20140120-191122.jpg
I’ve always loved chevrons and was happy to have a reason to figure out how I was going to do it. There are several ways to make chevrons and I used the version where you set pieced square blocks on point then trim all the edges.

This turned out to be a really fun and fast quilt to put together. I started cutting it out on a Saturday afternoon and had the top finished the same evening. I quilted it using straight lines running vertically through the peaks and valleys; simple, quick and effective.

It’s also very easy to adjust the size of the blocks and I will definitely be making another one, probably a lap quilt size. If you would like to know how to make this version of a chevron quilt just leave me a comment and I will do up a little tutorial.

About Susan Strong

My name is Susan and I am a quilter. (Sounds like the beginning of a 12-step program meeting!) I am also the wife of a very understanding husband, mother of two great adult children and Nana of two beautiful granddaughters. I have been quilting for more years than I am willing to mention. To say that I am obsessed with quilting is an understatement. I love fabric, colour and the whole creative process. There is nothing better than starting a new quilt ... but finishing is another story. I am, what you might call, easily distracted. Always seduced by new fabrics and ideas. And that would be the reason I have a cupboard full of quilt tops waiting to be finished. Someday.
This entry was posted in Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chevron Baby!

  1. doris swaby says:

    like your idea of small quilts, like you I get carried away with new fabrics and so many unfinished
    projects but just love the colours and patterns

Leave a Reply

